Decluttering

Since moving into a new house almost two months ago, I have decluttered a lot of stuff.  It’s amazing how clutter attracts clutter.  I feel like I should have decluttered a long time ago, but it wasn’t until I moved in to my new home, did I see how great it was to have a house free of stuff.  It is much easier to clean when I don’t have to try to organize clutter.  Spending less time picking stuff up means I have more time for other things.  Having a place for everything is the key.  I greatly reduced my kids toys.  I found they play with five main types of toys: wooden blocks, legos, playmobil, matchbox cars, and trains.  We also have lots of books and art supplies.  We also got rid of lots of kids clothing.  How many outfits does a kid really need?    Less clothing means less laundry to fold and put away.  Sometimes I still feel like I have too much stuff.  I have learned that if I put one piece of paper on a flat surface, the papers multiply.  Filing it or throwing it away is what I need to do instead.  Decluttering is an ongoing process for me.  It’s not second nature to me.  It is freeing.  You know what?  I don’t miss any of the stuff I got rid of.  A quote that I love on this subject is: ‘Have nothing in your homes that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.’ ~William Morris 

Leave a Reply

