What’s your word for 2009?

Just yesterday I learned of an interesting idea thanks to Aimee at Living Learning and Loving Simply.  It is to choose a word for the year and have that be your focus.  I’ve decided that my word for 2009 is nurture.  As a mother, I do alot of nurturing, feeding, bathing, hugging, reading, and more.  I’m going to think about other ways I can nurture my children.  I’d like to have a nurturing learning environment by making the schoolroom more cozy – fun posters and beanbags are just some of my ideas. 

My husband loves cookies.  I hope to bake cookies more often for him (and hide them from the kids 🙂 ).  I’d also like to go out on a date once a month.  These are ways I hope to nurture him.

I’d like to nurture my relationships with friends and family.  I’ve always wanted to be better about sending birthday cards, writing letters, and updating with photos.  Maybe this will be the year.   

I’d also like to focus on being a better nurturer of myself.  Going to bed earlier, reading more books, and knitting daily are just a few of the ways that I hope to accomplish this.  Not only nurture myself, but let others nurture me as well.  Think about how God nurtures me. 

What is your word for 2009?  Do you have any thoughts on the word nurture?

Aimee also pointed me in the direction of a fun giveaway as well as more discussion on this topic.  It can be found at Ali Edward’s blog.

Happy New Year!

One Response to “What’s your word for 2009?”

  1. Lara Says:

    I know this is a really old post, but I just found your blog today though the AP message board and it’s great! I had an idea for decorating your school room. Have you heard of rain gutter bookshelves? Here’s a link about it:
    http://www.trelease-on-reading.com/oliver.html
    (I’m a teacher) and this is always discussed at literacy meetings as a great way to decorate and add color, get kids to read books they may have forgotten about from your library. It can also be ever-changing and it’s inexpensive. Just a thought. Let me know if you ever need any resources or anything!
    Lara

Leave a Reply

