Diaper Chatter

I grew up pinning cloth diapers on my siblings in the late 80s and early 90s.  During those years, my mom was fortunate to have a cloth diapering service which picked up the dirty diapers to wash and left clean ones on your doorstep.

With my first baby, I started out using disposables.  About the time I was starting to run out of my supply from my baby showers, I met a woman at my postpartum yoga class who raved about cloth diapering.  I had no idea that people were still cloth diapering.  I remember being so excited as I placed my first order and waiting for it to arrive on my doorstep.

I’ve been cloth diapering for 9 years straight now – with disposables used occasionally for travel or ice storms (no electricity) or a broken washer.  I share that not to make me sound like a cloth diapering saint, but to let you know that it really is easy or I wouldn’t be doing this.  Due to my years of experience, I can share with you what has worked for us.  The cheapest method of cloth diapering is to use diaper service quality prefolds.  Many of my prefolds have lasted me through three babies!  At $2 a piece for 36 prefolds, that is $72.  It doesn’t get any better than that!  I like to pin my cloth diapers, but many people like to use a Snappi.  You will also need covers.  I suggest having a minimum of 6 covers in whatever size your baby is wearing.  My favorite covers are Bummis Super Snap and Thirsties.  They are about $11 each.  Thirsties are fun because they come in a rainbow of colors.  Wool covers are a great option too, especially for nighttime diapering.  If you are a knitter, you can even make your own wool covers. Another diapering option which I have recently started using and love is BumGenius.  These are pocket diapers, which means that you put a microfiber insert inside the shell of the diaper.  They are more pricey, but if you factor in that they are one size (meaning that they will last from newborn to potty training) and you don‘t have to buy a cover, they are a good investment.  BumGenius are great for on the go.  For wipes, I’ve purchased or made my own flannel wipes.  I just wet with water when I need to wipe a bottom and then toss the dirty ones in the diaper pail with the dipes.  Simple!  For times when we are out and about, I put my dirty diapers, covers, and wipes in a reusable wet bag.
No money to start cloth diapering?  Check out Miracle Diapers!  They are a non-profit organization helping moms who want to cloth diaper, but can’t due to financial reasons.
More than one child in diapers?  Don’t let that stop you!  Visit Heather for some encouragement. She has four in cloth diapers and manages to stay sane.
There are many reasons to use cloth diapers, but two great reasons for today’s times are cost and environment.  If I would have used disposable diapers for my 4 babies, I would have spent a lot of money by now.  ’Going green’ seems to be a popular trend right now.  What better way to help preserve the earth for our children and their children than by using cloth.

For more reading on great reasons to use cloth, check out:

Crazy for Cloth: The Benefits of Cloth Diapers 

Real Diaper Association – Diaper Facts

 If you do a google search, you will find many places to buy cloth diapers.  My personal favorite place to shop is Little Clothesline.  Lotta is a knowledgeable mama with great customer service.  She also holds monthly cloth diaper meetings, so if you are in her area and want to see the diapers in person, this is a fun way to do so.  As a plus, you’ll also get to meet other cloth diapering moms and hear their experiences.

If you like to talk cloth or want to read more about what others have to say, check out the Diaper Chatter going on at Momfessions.  Blog about your thoughts and experiences with cloth diapers for a chance to enter her giveaway.

leah-095

2 Responses to “Diaper Chatter”

  1. sheila Says:

    Thanks for coming to play! :o)

  2. Miranda Says:

    Let me know if you know of someone needing cloth dipes. I have some that still have lots of life in them… good quality Chinese prefolds, Alexis covers, and a few others. It’s been too long since I used them… can’t seem to remember what they are. Anyway… I’d gladly pass them on.

Leave a Reply

