HSV Garden Challenge

The Homeschool Village is hosting a Garden Challenge from now until June 30th.  My family and I plan to give square foot gardening a try this year.  I have a garden box sitting in my garage that I got a few years ago.  I hadn’t used it until now because we were members of our local CSA.  To help me in my planning, I bought the book All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew.  It looks like it will be a great resource.  I’m excited to get the whole family involved in the gardening.  I think they will be all the more excited when we start getting veggies that they helped to grow.  I think we will plant veggies, herbs, and flowers that are easy to grow – tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, carrots, sunflowers, maybe a pumpkin, and not sure what else.  I am hoping that the spot beyond the sandbox and slide in my photo will be perfect for our garden box.

While in Target the other day, I saw some cute little gardening pots in the $1 section.  I bought a tomato plant and a sunflower plant.  I thought that my preschool son would have fun with this. 

When I asked my preschooler what he thought of gardening, he said that it makes him “happy”.  I also asked him what I thought would be the most fun about gardening, he said “making stuff” (I think he means watching it grow.).  We went by the library today to pick up the gardening books recommended by Homeschool Creations.  I know he will also like doing the Garden Preschool Pack from Homeschool Creations.

I look forward to making fun memories with my kids in the garden this spring!

One Response to “HSV Garden Challenge”

  1. Michelle Says:

    ah, it makes him happy, so sweet! It makes me happy too. =) Have fun!

Leave a Reply

