Peanut Butter Blossoms and a lesson in slowing down

Yesterday, I made my husband’s favorite cookie, Peanut Butter Blossoms with plans to make another type of cookie in the evening.  I had a lovely time baking with my 3 year old daughter always eager to help mommy in the kitchen.  Baby boy (7 months) was scooting around on the floor during this time.  He made a beeline for the dog’s water bowl and knocked it over.  I quickly wiped up the mess, or so I thought.  After my baking was done, I quickly walked through the kitchen, only to slip in the puddle of water from the dog’s bowl.  I think I’ve broken my toe.  So what is the lesson in this as I lay on the couch with my foot propped up or hobbling on crutches?  Perhaps it’s a lesson in examining what is truly important during this blessed time of Advent.  Do I need to bake 8 other kinds of cookies this year?  Mail out cards?  Rush from one event to the next?  Maybe it’s a chance to knit more, read more, and slow down in an otherwise often busy time of year.

On to the recipe:

Peanut Butter Blossoms

  • 1/2 c. shortening
  • 3/4 c. peanut butter
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 T. milk
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c. unsifted flour
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • granulated sugar
  • 9 oz package Hershey’s kisses

Cream shortening and peanut butter.  Add sugars.  Add egg, milk, and vanilla; beat well.  Combine dry ingredients.  Add gradually, blending thoroughly.  Shape dough into 1 inch balls; roll in granulated sugar.  Place on ungreased baking sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.  Remove from oven, immediately place unwrapped kiss on tops of each cookie, pressing down so that cookie cracks around the edge.  Remove from cookie sheet; cool.  Makes 4 dozen cookies.

Leave a Reply

