Reducing or eliminating sugar from your diet

After eating lots of yummy goodies this past month (like those gluten free Bob’s Red Mill shortbread cookies in the photo above), I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling the need to reduce or eliminate sugar from my diet.  Too much sugar leaves me feeling jittery and wrecks havoc on my immune system.  I successfully eliminated sugars for about 10 weeks this fall and I felt great.  Some people might not need to eliminate it, but for me I’ve found sugar to be a slippery slope.  If I have a little bit of sugar, then I want more and soon my cravings are out of control.  I learned from my days of no sugars that fruit is sweet enough to my palate to satisfy my sweet cravings.  I also eliminated grains, except for 2 pieces of sprouted grain bread per day.  Why?  The first few days without sugar are the hardest.  How did I survive those days?  Often times when I craved sugar, it’s because I was actually hungry and needed to eat a protein snack.  I will admit that it’s not easy.  Sugar is in everthing these days.  It takes willpower and determination, but it can be done.

Here are some ideas for favorite sugar-free snacks:

  • fruit
  • cut up veggies
  • nuts
  • cheese slices
  • yogurt
  • green smoothies
  • sprouted grain bread with almond butter
  • hard boiled eggs
  • canned salmon

This post is being linked up at: Raising Homemakers, Women Living Well, Growing Home blog, and New Life on a Homestead.

2 Responses to “Reducing or eliminating sugar from your diet”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I went 4 months without refined sugars or flours and THAT was hard. I did eat raw honey, raw sugar and whole grains but in moderation. I sooo feel ya on eliminating sugar, but it is hard.

  2. Emily Says:

    My mom gave it up again yesterday. She once went a whole year which I find amazing.

Leave a Reply

