How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. for Your Kids – Introduction

How To Have a HEART for Your Kids

I am excited to be reading the book How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. for Your Kids by Rachael Carman.  I am participating in a book club at The Pelsers.  To read what others have to say about the book or share your thoughts, check out the weekly link-up.  You can also find a facebook group where we’re discussing the book.

For this week, I read the Introduction.  I learned what H.E.A.R.T. stands for:

  • Have a heart for the things of God
  • Enrich your marriage
  • Accept your kids
  • Release them to God
  • Teach them the truth

Rachael shares her journey which lead to homeschooling her children.  When her son was an infant, she met a neighbor who was homeschooling her children.  Rachael admits to wondering why anyone would want to do that.  She looked forward to the day that her son would be going to kindergarten.  After several days of her son being in kindergarten, her husband visits the classroom and realizes that this was not the place for his son to be learning.  They withdrew him from the public school and visited private schools.  Her husband was the one who suggested the idea of homeschooling.  Rachael agreed to it, but was only going to homeschool for a year as a temporary solution.  After attending a homeschool convention, Rachael and her husband felt God calling them to continue homeschooling.  She admits that she didn’t have a heart for her kids and needed to change that.  I’ll learn in the rest of the book how she developed a heart for her kids.

I like Rachael’s honesty.  She lays her feelings out about how she felt about the idea of homeschooling and about her kids.  Knowing that she changed her heart makes me interested in hearing how she did it.

As for my homeschooling journey, I grew up with my mom homeschooling my siblings, though I was never homeschooled.  We grew up without a television, so my siblings and I read lots of books, explored the outdoors, and loved playing with Legos, puzzles, and creating.  When my oldest son was old enough for kindergarten, I knew that I didn’t want to send him to school.  Having seen my mom teach my siblings and see that they were indeed well-adjusted teens and adults gave me the confidence to teach my own son.  We’ve been homeschooling for 7 years now.

Amanda asked what sacrifices we’ve made as moms or for our children.  To have me staying at home and teaching my children, we have made sacrifices.  I could have a cleaner house, more time to work on my own agenda, more money, but as they grow older, I am seeing the fruits of our sacrifices.  It’s not always easy, but it’s worth it.

Come back next week for my thoughts on Chapter 1!

 

6 Responses to “How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. for Your Kids – Introduction”

  1. Eileen Says:

    Wonderful for you to have the example from your own mom. I’m enjoying the book discussion.

  2. Amanda @ ThePelsers Says:

    How neat to have an example in your mom and know from that what you wanted to do. You got to see the positive side of homeschooling. So many seem to fall into it because of the negative side of public schooling.

  3. Heather Says:

    Interesting that you watched homeschooling and knew you wanted that for your son:) I homeschool some of mine–I wonder what the other feel about it deep down!

  4. Lauren Says:

    I had forgotten about the sacrifices – because I often feel so blessed to be able to be at home. I feel like the only sacrifices would actually be compromises and I would not be in as blessed and thankful a place as I am right now. Looking forward to hearing more from you as we read this book together!

  5. Jen @ Gricefully Homeschooling Says:

    Wow, that is an interesting story. I hope my non-homeschooled daughter decides to home school her children someday, like you did! Thanks for joining us! ~ Jen @ GricefullyHomeschooling.com

  6. ohiosarah Says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting. I’m following you now as well 🙂 I enjoyed reading your intro. I was homeschooled for a day but then right back into the public school – I guess maybe the Lord was working in my life even then 🙂

Leave a Reply

