Cod liver oil review and giveaway

I recently had the chance to try Green Pastures Cod Liver Oil.  You ask, “Cod liver oil?  How can she consume cod liver oil?”  I’m here to tell you that it’s really not as awful as it may sound.  It’s also very good for you.  Green Pastures Fermented Cod Liver Oil contains vitamins A and D, EPA, DHA, and Omega Fatty Acids.

Green Pastures is the only company in the world to make fermented cod liver oil.  Other companies heat the oil which causes it to lose certain nutrients in the process.  They offer several different flavors and types.  They also offer it in capsules, liquid, or gel.  They even offer a kid approved flavor.  An Emulsified Fermented Cod Liver Oil, a Fermented Cod Liver Oil, and a High Vitamin Butter/Fermented Cod Liver Oil blend are available, depending on your preference.

My 4 kids tried the Peppermint Emulsified Cod Liver Oil.  Out of the 4, only one liked it straight up.  Another suggestion was to mix with yogurt.  They weren’t too keen on that either.  The way that they did like it was with juice.  I chose to use Knudsen’s juice since it seemed to be the healthiest of juices.

I tried the Unflavored High Vitamin Butter Oil/Fermented Cod Liver Oil combination.  According to the Green Pastures website: Dr. Weston A. Price discovered High Vitamin Butter Oil in the 1930’s. The pinnacle of his X-Factor discovery was the extreme synergistic effect between High Vitamin Butter Oil and traditional cod liver oil. “One without the other did not do his patients justice, but the two together worked like magic”.  I liked the taste.  If you don’t like fish or fishy tastes, I don’t think you’d like the unflavored.  I personally love fish, so perhaps that’s why I didn’t mind the unflavored.  In the past, I’ve tried the Cinnamon Tingle flavor.  The Cinnamon Tingle flavor masks the fish taste quite well for those of you who don’t like the fishy taste.

Green Pastures is giving THREE of you a chance to win a bottle of Cod Liver Oil, which is a $50 value!  You can choose between the Fermented Cod Liver Oil, Emulsified Fermented Cod Liver Oil, or the High Vitamin Butter Oil/Fermented Cod Liver Oil blend.

To enter, go to the Green Pastures website, then come back and tell me what type and flavor you would choose if you win. (1 entry. This is a mandatory entry.)

For additional optional entries:

  • subscribe to my blog (1 entry)
  • share about this giveaway on Facebook or Twitter (1 entry)
  • share about this giveaway on your blog (1 entry)

Make sure to leave seperate comments for each way that you enter.  This giveaway will end Wednesday, January 18th at 11:59 pm CST.  The winner will be chosen via random number generator.

These products were given to me for free in exchange for my honest review.

This post is being linked up at: Raising Homemakers, Women Living Well, Growing Home blog, and New Life on a Homestead.

16 Responses to “Cod liver oil review and giveaway”

  1. OliveSprouts Says:

    I would choose BLUE ICE™ Royal Butter Oil/Fermented Cod Liver Oil Blend – Cinnamon Tingle! Thanks for doing this giveaway. 🙂

  2. Karen Says:

    🙂 now following your blog

  3. Karen Says:

    shared your facebook post, too 🙂

  4. Karen Says:

    I would choose the butter/cod liver blend (choc cream).

  5. OliveSprouts Says:

    I subscribed to your blog! 🙂

  6. OliveSprouts Says:

    Tweeted! 🙂

  7. Katie Says:

    I would try the Butter/Cod liver blend in Cinnamon Flavor 🙂 and I am subscribing to your blog.

  8. Andrea Says:

    I think I would get the BLUE ICE™ Royal Butter Oil/Fermented Cod Liver Oil Blend – Cinnamon Tingle

  9. Jessica Says:

    I would choose the Peppermint Tingle Blue Ice Royal Butter Fermented Cod Liver Oil blend.

  10. Jessica Says:

    I subscribe to your blog

  11. Hannah Says:

    I enjoy trying the Butter blend in Cinnamon.

  12. Andrea Says:

    Tweeted! https://twitter.com/#!/JosieAK/status/157287284037783553

  13. Andrea Says:

    Now following you!

  14. Jill @ The Prairie Homestead Says:

    I would choose the Royal blend in cinnamon tingle flavor. Thanks for sharing this giveaway at the Barn Hop this week as well. Green Pastures is a great company!

  15. Tiffany A. Says:

    I want to win the Fermented Cod Liver Oil in Cinnamon Tingle!

  16. Tiffany A. Says:

    I’m now subscribed to your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

